• About us


The Bay Area Book Festival is the primary project of the Foundation for the Future of Literature and Literacy, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization incorporated in California. FFLL’s Tax ID number is 47-3955286. Its business address is 1569 Solano Ave. #635, Berkeley, CA 94707.

FFLL is governed by a Board of Directors. Members include Sarah Carlberg (Portland, OR), Cherilyn Parsons (Berkeley, CA), Peter Richardson (San Francisco, CA), Mal Warwick (Berkeley, CA), and Brooke Warner (Berkeley, CA).

Leadership Team

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Sarah Carlberg

Assistant Director

Amy Draemel

Website and Information Manager

Scott Gelfand

Chief Operations Officer

Rohini Gupta

Digital Media Manager

Lisa Heyse

International Program

Haley Kleine

Executive Assistant

Melissa Mytinger

Program Director

Fyza Parviz

Web Producer

Anna Pulley

Communications Manager

Sabrina Werts

Internship Director, Community Liaison, and Creative Associate

Pat Rose

Communications and Media Consultant

Samee Roberts

Event Producer

Steven Tiffin

Event Producer

Festival Team

Adam Gottstein

Green Room Author Coordinator

Michael Hitchner

Photography Manager

Melody Horowitz

Green Room Hospitality Coordinator

Jane Hudson

Library Liaison

Kate Jessup

Special Events

Sarah Kidder

Exhibitor Coordinator

Abraham Mertens


Ian Moura

Volunteer Coordinator

Erin Skidmore

Marketing Consultant

Mal Warwick

Content Producer

Xena Wolfe

Head Royce School Intern

Art and Web Design Team

Rich Black

Official festival artist, 2017


Web Designer

Aspire Visual

Graphic Designer

Program Steering Committee

Jane Ciabattari

Board member and former President (2008-2011), National Book Critics Circle

Aya de Leon

Author, activist, and teacher

Ethan Nosowsky

Editorial Director, Graywolf Press

Peter Richardson

Author, Professor at San Francisco State University

Stephen Sparks

Pt. Reyes Books

Brooke Warner

Publisher, SheWrites Press

Program Advisers

Michael Berry

Writer and Reviewer

Cara Black


Michael Holtmann

Center for the Art of Translation

Adam Z. Levy and Ashley Nelson Levy

Founders, Transit Books

Tom Luddy

Co-director, Telluride Film Festival

Rachel Richardson

Author, Co-director, Left Margin LIT

Board of Directors

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Brooke Warner

Publisher, SheWrites Press

Sarah Carlberg

Assistant Director

Mal Warwick

Author, book reviewer, entrepreneur

Peter Richardson

Lecturer, School of Humanities and Liberal Studies Coordinator, American Studies and California Studies, San Francisco State University