Leadership Team

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Samee Roberts

Managing Director

Dora La Flora Czifra

Program Systems and Web Manager

Julia & Jared Drake
Wildbound PR


Scott Gelfand

Chief Operations Officer

Lisa Heyse

International Program Director

Norah Piehl

Director for Literary Programs

Steven Tiffin

Outdoor Fair Producer

Festival Team

Aspire Visual

Graphic Designer

Jason Beresini

Independent Bookseller Coordinator

Julie Coryell, Wildbound PR

Publicity Associate

Matthew Felix

Author Green Room Coordinator

Batya Gelfand

Volunteer Coordinator

Michael Hitchner

Photography Manager

Haley Kleine

Ticketing & Salesforce Assistant

Lou Ann Koehler

Author Travel Coordinator

Madeleine Letellier, Wildbound PR

Social Media Coordinator


Web Designer

UC Berkeley Interns

Ryan Bada, Michelle Chen, Erika Layton, Anna Ma, Annie Sheinberg, Anastasia Yang, Yuetong Zhang

Program Advisers

Jane Ciabattari

Board member and former President, National Book Critics Circle

Michael Holtmann

Center for the Art of Translation

Laurie R. King


Janis Cooke Newman

Author; Founder and Director of Lit Camp, Highbeam Editorial, and Page Street writers co-working space

Karen Phillips

Executive Director, Words Without Borders

Lise Quintana

Publisher, Zoetic Press

Renée Richard

CEO & Executive Director Cinnamongirl, Inc.

Rachel Richardson

Author, Co-director, Left Margin LIT

Brooke Warner

Publisher, SheWrites Press

Board of Directors

The Bay Area Book Festival is the primary project of the Foundation for the Future of Literature and Literacy, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization incorporated in California. FFLL’s Tax ID number is 47-3955286. FFLL is governed by a Board of Directors:

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Brooke Warner

Interim Chair

Publisher, SheWrites Press

George Rehm



Lise Quintana


Editor, Zoetic Press

Igor Zagatsky

The Urban School