Leadership Team

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Samee Roberts

Managing Director

Dora La Flora Czifra

Program Systems & Web Manager

Julia & Jared Drake
Wildbound PR


Scott Gelfand

Chief Operations Officer

Lisa Heyse

International Program Director

Jane Marchant

Director for Artistic Inclusion

Norah Piehl

Director for Literary Programs

Suzanne Rivecca

Festival Writer & Development Manager

Steven Tiffin

Outdoor Fair Producer

Festival Team

Aspire Visual

Graphic Designer

Michael Hitchner

Photography Manager

Madeleine Letellier

Social Media Coordinator

Shawn Walker-Smith

Ticketing & Database Support


Web Designer

Program Steering Committee

Jane Ciabattari

Board member and former President, National Book Critics Circle

Aya de Leon

Author, activist, and teacher

Ismail Muhammad

Writer, Critic

Ethan Nosowsky

Editorial Director, Graywolf Press

Peter Richardson

Author, Professor at San Francisco State University

Matt Silady

Chair, Graduate Comics Program
California College of the Arts

Stephen Sparks

Pt. Reyes Books

Brooke Warner

Publisher, SheWrites Press

Program Advisers

Michael Berry

Writer and Reviewer

Cara Black


Randal Brandt

Bancroft Library, UC Berkeley

Michael Holtmann

Center for the Art of Translation

Laurie R. King


Renée Richard

CEO & Executive Director Cinnamongirl, Inc.

Rachel Richardson

Author, Co-director, Left Margin LIT

Steve Wasserman

Publisher, Heyday Books

Board of Directors

The Bay Area Book Festival is the primary project of the Foundation for the Future of Literature and Literacy, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization incorporated in California. FFLL’s Tax ID number is 47-3955286. FFLL is governed by a Board of Directors:

Cherilyn Parsons

Founder and Executive Director

Brooke Warner

Interim Chair

Publisher, SheWrites Press

George Rehm



Lise Quintana


Editor, Zoetic Press

Igor Zagatsky

The Urban School